Would anyone be interested in automation on their Gantt Projects?

Hi there,

I’m fairly new to Gannt Project and think it’s awesome a tool like this is available for free. Soon after using it for a personal home project, I decided to write a Java application that can read and write the file and automate a few things.

After a month in my spare time, here’s what I’ve built:

• A single command line configurable application that runs in the various modes
  • Automates visibility of tasks in a GanttProject file by emailing assignees as the task start date arrives. (It can be configured to send repeat notifications at various stages through to end date if completion remains at 0%)
  • Automates status updates from assignees by handling email replies of progress
  • Generates overall project summary for the project manager
    • Active tasks (start date <= today <= end date) with zero completion
    • In flight tasks (0 < completion < 100)
    • Upcoming tasks (today < start date)
  • Generates a filtered project summary of tasks for an individual in response to email request

Since I use Gantt Project on local files, that’s what the application is designed to work with.
I’m using the application now to handle automatic notifications, updates and summaries for my project having installed and scheduled it to run on my Linux server, but it can also run on Windows (or Mac).

Once I finish testing (and based on the interest level response), I’ll pop it all a public Github repo for people to see.

Thanks
David.

Hi,
Seems interesting, but would need clear rules to avoid overloading the email mailbox space :wink:
On the positive way, I would recommend to carefully think about “a process” to understand the value of the automation.
Lastly, I assume that if it works on local files, would also work on a cloud storage…

Thanks for sharing, David!

Thanks for the reply.