Export to MS Project 2016

Hi, wonder if you can help…

I have been using GanttProject for a while now and have recently bought MS Project 2016, only to find that I can’t export a project in MPX file format from GanttProject to Project 2016 as the latter doesn’t support this format, only older versions do!

Is there any way around this?

Please note that I am not particularly IT literate and am self taught so laymans terms appreciated, thanks.

Why don’t you use Microsoft’s XML format aka MSPDI?

Hi Dmitry

Thanks for your reply, I have tried this but when I go to open it all I get is a Notepad document with pages and pages of text! Am I missing something obvious?

Notepad document? When you export to XML you get, well, XML. Yes, it is nearly plain text and can be opened in Notepad, but you’ll want to open it in MS Project. There must be a menu action for that © in MS Project. I guess it is File->Open (can’t check, sorry).

Hi

Did try opening from MS Project but Project shut down and restarted, when I tried for a second time I received a message that the last time had caused a serious error. I’ve tried with some other GanttProject XML files and the same happens.It appears that my GanttProject files are corrupted maybe?

I don’t think so. Can’t say anything certain without seeing the real behavior and error messages, sorry.

I’ve tried with some other GanttProject XML files

Just in case: don’t open GanttProject files in MS Project. Open what GanttProject exports to MS Project XML.

Hi

I saved the project to my desktop as XML file, then opened MS Project, clicked Open Other Projects>Browse and searched Desktop for all files and found the XML file. Clicked Open, Import wizard asks if I want to save as new project, I click finish and then the error message came up. If I ask still to open it then Project closes and restarts.

Looks weird.